Sparks Memorial Medal

First awarded in 1925, the Sparks Memorial Medal is named for Edwin Erle Sparks, Alpha-Chi 1884, Iota 1884, and is the Chi Phi Educational Trust’s oldest honor. It is given every year to the man with the highest academic standing in each Chapter and Colony with recipients having to be an active Brother for one full year

The Sparks Memorial Medal is a truly unique Chi Phi relic, incorporating representations from each of our three Founding Orders. The ribbon of scarlet and blue is symbolic of the ribbons affixed to charters issued by the Hobart Order. The medal itself is an embossed replica of the Princeton Order badge and bears the swords and stars emblematic of the Southern Order. 

Since only one medal can be awarded to each Chapter and Colony, the task of selecting the recipients can sometimes be quite Herculean. However, in the rare event of a tie in GPA, Brothers’ involvement in the Chapter, on campus, and within the community will be taken into consideration to determine a winner. 

Brother Sparks proved himself to be an outstanding Brother throughout his time as a Chi Phi. After transferring from Ohio Wesleyan where he was a member of the Alpha-Chi Chapter, he founded the Iota Chapter at The Ohio State University. Later in his Chi Phi career not only did he visit each Chapter of Chi Phi at least once, he also devoted his time as Grand Gamma from 1886 to 1888, Alpha of Congress in 1921, and Editor of The Chi Phi Chakett from 1922 until his death in 1924. Shortly before his passing, Brother Sparks was able to witness the installation of the Alpha Delta Chapter at Penn State, the institution to which he had devoted so many years as its President. 

Sparks memorial medal nominations

To be eligible to receive a Sparks Memorial Medal, the winner must have been an initiated member for an entire year. Nominations can be made by a Campus Greek Advisor, Campus Professional, Chapter Advisor, or Faculty Advisor.

2021 Sparks Memorial Medal Recipients

  • Carter M. Aaron. Alpha-Pi 2022
  • Thomas E. Bartecki, Eta Delta 2022
  • Carter S. Bishop, Tau 2021
  • Arthur J. DiLeo Jr., Delta 2022
  • Dalton M. Gadapee, Xi Delta 2022
  • Cameron J. Hickey, Nu 2023
  • Benjamin T. Larson, Tau Theta 2023
  • HoangLong P. Ly, Omega Zeta 2022
  • Duncan S. McCall, Alpha Delta 2022
  • Brandon A. Morantz, Theta Delta 2023
  • Tyler J. Neely, Alpha Theta Chi 2022
  • David M. Niemynski, Kappa Delta 2021
  • Daniel K. Piper, Omicron Theta 2021
  • Stuart D. Powell, Beta 2021
  • James B. Romano, Iota Delta 2023
  • Benjamin F. Russell, University of Tampa 2022
  • Will M. Shephard, Xi 2021
  • Kevin R. Shrewsbury, Delta Xi 2023
  • Ishav Y. Shukla, Psi Zeta 2022
  • William C. Smiley, Alpha Zeta 2022
  • Spencer R. Song, Lambda 2021
  • Andrew B. Stickler, Delta Theta 2023
  • Henry S. Tikkanen, Alpha-Chi 2022